FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC)

FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship

The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) is one of the premier regional championships in World Rallying, covering almost 40% of the worlds population.

The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship is spread through a diverse range of countries, climates, cultures and a huge population base of over 2.5 billion people.

Six events make up the championship starting in New Zealand with the fast and smooth roads of Rally of Whangarei, followed by Australia’s Rally in the nations capital of Canberra. The APRC then heads to Zhangye, West China near the Mongolian border for the championship’s ‘desert’ rally. From the dry desert heat and in complete contrast, the fourth event of the championship is the very hot and humid Malaysian Rally run through the Palm Oil Plantations of Johor.

Japan is next and the fast forestry and public roads of Rally Hokkaido, followed by the final event of the year - the India Rally, held on the coffee plantations roads of Chikmagalur. Registered competitors are required to nominate a minimum of 6 rallies (for APRC) at the time of registration, and thus score points at those rallies.The long-term and very successful partnership between Würth and the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) will continue in 2018. As Würth has continued to expand its business and distribution through the Asia-Pacific region its seen the APRC as a perfect partner to promote its brand and products, especially as the FIA affiliated rally championship has events in key growth markets such as Australia, Japan, China and India.

For the rally teams and drivers in the APRC the Würth partnership has provided them with an abundant supply of the best automotive and chemical products on the market, backed up with technical advice. It’s a two-way partnership where the team engineers provide feedback to Würth on their products, especially useful when rallying is one of the toughest of all motorsports, often held in extreme and remote areas.

Serge Oppedisano, CEO for Würth Australia & New Zealand and Member of the Asia Pacific Strategy Board for the Wurth Group said,

“The relationship we share with the APRC is one that we value highly. It allows us to locally, reach a large portion of end users and customers and showcase what Wurth can deliver in terms of its high quality products and systems in a tough and often challenging environment. Our passion for all forms of Motorsport has been one that we have enjoyed for many years and the FIA APRC is a great backdrop for our local Oceania market.”

Knowing that staff and customers are passionate Motorsport fans, Wurth are confident that the brand values shared between the Penske organisation and Wurth Australia, of quality and professionalism represent a unique partnership. Having a long-standing relationship with Dick Johnson and Penkse internationally, this partnership locally of DJR Team Penske was a natural win win agreement for all stakeholders.

Wurth has a vibrant business in Australia with over 450 sales staff but coupled with DJR Team Penske, now have the ability to extend their passion for success into the public arena. Signing a multi-year deal, Wurth Australia are excited to share the success both on and off track with their customers and staff.

Get the latest news at: